Attempting to add SSL Certificate for Snowplow CE

Hi all!

I’m new to using snowplow and want to deploy our current setup (created from here - https://docs.snowplow.io/docs/getting-started-on-snowplow-open-source/quick-start/).

Our pipeline works successfully as of now, but we want to add a custom domain to this; we have our own certificate files already, but when enabling it in the terraform.tfvars file, do we just include the path? What is expected in the certificate_id field of the terraform.tfvars file?

Any help would be appreciated - thanks!

Hi @kdrabh which Cloud have you deployed the quick-start on so I can help with this.

Hi Josh -

We deployed it using GCP.

Hi @kdrabh once you have an SSL Certificate created within GCP you need to supply the ID string:

https://registry.terraform.io/providers/hashicorp/google/latest/docs/resources/compute_ssl_certificate#id

Of the form: projects/{{project}}/global/sslCertificates/{{name}}

This is the certificate_id you need to bake in ^^

We didn’t generate our SSL Certificate through GCP, and instead have a separate file (since we use our SSL certificate for our other domains as well) - is this still feasible, or do we have to upload it to GCP under the iglu front end load balancer?

Hey @kdrabh to link your SSL certificate in you can upload it into GCP and then reference the ID out - doing this with Terraform:

resource "google_compute_ssl_certificate" "my_cert" {
  name        = "my-certificate"
  private_key = file("path/to/private.key")
  certificate = file("path/to/certificate.crt")
}

> this is the value you need: google_compute_ssl_certificate.my_cert.id

Hope this helps!

1 Like

Revisiting this just to let you know that it worked. Thank you so much for the help!

1 Like

Great to hear it thanks for letting us know @kdrabh !

Hi @josh