GCP Setup: Instance connection refused

Hello,

First time setting up a Snowplow pipeline on GCP, using this guide, which is very similar to the Snowplow documentation.

I’ve managed to set everything up, up until the last step where I can test my connection. When sending the test request via curl, I get the following:
(7) Failed to connect to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX port 8080: Connection refused

I’ve not found a solution anywhere else. From what I’ve read I think the issue is that the port is not being listened to, and not a firewall issue (which would give me connection denied or similar). I’ve tried on my local machine and through the instance SSH, with the same result.

I’m a beginner, by the way. Technical knowledge is not great, just learning as I go.

Thanks,
Sam

Hi @samvdbt,

Sounds like you’re attempting to check connection to the collector - correct me if I’m wrong, but I’ll proceed to answer on that assumption.

The collector should be publicly available, so SSHing in shouldn’t be necessary.

I’m assuming you used something along the lines of the below, from looking at the guide.

curl -d "&e=pv&page=curl-test&url=http%3A%2F%2Fjust-testing.com&aid=snowplow-test" -X POST http://<COLLECTOR_ENDPOINT>:8080/com.snowplowanalytics.iglu/v1

Have you tried removing the port? ie:

curl -d "&e=pv&page=curl-test&url=http%3A%2F%2Fjust-testing.com&aid=snowplow-test" -X POST http://<COLLECTOR_ENDPOINT>/com.snowplowanalytics.iglu/v1

It’s also worth checking the health of the collector:

curl http://<COLLECTOR_ENDPOINT>/health

Also, check that your collector configuration allows accepting insecure requests, or try https:// .

If none of those succeed, it’s possible that there’s something to do with the networking rules that may be causing an issue - let us know what the response is from those requests and we might figure out what else could be going on.

Best,

Hi Colm,