Unified package - user identifier stitching

Hi there,

I’m totally new to Snowplow. I’ve installed unified package in my DBT project. It’s for an mobile app.

I’m trying set a custom entity contexts_com_theapp_user_1.value:email_hash as a primary user identifier and contexts_com_snowplowanalytics_snowplow_client_session_1[0]:userId::string if email hash is null.

I presumed that I should be updating the following variable?
snowplow__user_identifiers:
snowplow__user_stitching_id
snowplow__session_identifiers:

Not sure if the following vars need to be updated?
snowplow__user_sql
snowplow__session_sql

Much appreciated with any help

Here’s my setting
snowplow__user_identifiers: [
{‘schema’ : ‘contexts_com_theapp_user_1’,‘field’: ‘email_hash’},
{‘schema’: ‘contexts_com_snowplowanalytics_snowplow_client_session_1[0]’, ‘field’: ‘userId’},

contexts_com_snowplowanalytics_snowplow_client_session_1 is an array contains a JSON object and one of the field in the object is userId.

dbt run --selector snowplow_unified is completed successful. How and where shall i check in the data platform?

Thanks

The configs are rendered into SQL showing in the image
The derived tables (sessions, users and views) should have correct stitched user identifier

Hi Phoebe_Chen, welcome!

In this case you may not need snowplow__user_identifiers – it’s intended more for the case where you need a custom “device ID” or session ID for grouping the events together even if the user isn’t authenticated and you want to do it in a way different to how the tracker SDKs do it (e.g. if you have an app that maintains its own session ID and want to use that to count sessions instead of the Snowplow SDK cookies.

For something like a hashed email that’s probably only on certain events, you likely want the stitching feature from snowplow__user_stitching_id instead.