Low-cost, low-maintenance, scalable Snowplow using fully-managed cloud services

Hi everyone,

As a digital analyst I want reliable analytics data without the need of much administration so that I can focus on supporting the business with numbers and insights.

I tried to find the best solution for below criteria:

• stream processing, enabling near-realtime data
  • ideally fully-managed services, no administration/maintenance after initial deployment
  • ideally no fixed costs, pay-per-use
  • ideally automatic scaling, no managing of instance sizes, numbers, clusters, load balancing etc.

I believe that Google Cloud Platform is a great platform for fully-managed services:

• Services
    • Google Firebase Hosting (see here)
    • Google Cloud Functions (see here)
    • Google Cloud Pub/Sub, (Google’s Kinesis equivalent, see here)
    • Google Cloud Dataflow (see here)
    • Google Cloud BigQuery (see here)
  • Costs
    • Firebase Hosting comes with a free SSL certificate for a custom domain (see here)
    • Firebase Hosting handles dynamic requests with Cloud Functions (see here)
    • Firebase Hosting Blaze plan is pay-per-use with no monthly fee, the first 2,000,000 Cloud Function invocations are free
    • Google Cloud Pub/Sub is pay-per-use with no monthly fee, the first 10GB are free (see here)
    • Google Cloud Dataflow is pay-per-use with no monthly fee (see here)
    • Google BigQuery is pay-per-use and costs $0.05 per GB for streaming data inserts and $0.02 per GB stored after the first 10GB (see here)
  • How it would work
    • The /i path on the custom domain HTTPS host points to a Node.js Cloud Function
    • The Cloud Function takes care of cookie management and puts the payload into Google Cloud Pub/Sub (SnowCannon might be useful)
    • Cloud Pub/Sub triggers Snowplow’s scala-stream-collector on Cloud Dataflow
    • From the scala-stream-collector the data goes to Snowplow’s stream-enrich on Cloud Dataflow