Can you run multiple instances of the S3 Loader(Kinesis)

I am pretty new to Snowplow and was working on migrating our S3 Loader to Fargate. I understand the loader uses DynamoDB to keep track of it’s position(for writing to S3) but was wondering if it’s even possible to run multiple instances of the S3 Loader. I tried spinning up several instances of the loader but I think each instance was using the same DynamoDB table which was causing issues. Is it possible to run multiple S3 Loaders and if so are there any suggestions on how to do it correctly?

Hi Michael, did you use a different kinesis.appName in the config for each loader?

I hadn’t yet but a fellow developer had mentioned that. That sounds like my next step. Quick dumb question. If each S3 Loader is writing to the same S3 bucket and the strategy is TRIM_HORIZON and they are using different DDB tables, how does each instance of the S3 Loader avoid writing out the same records? Thanks again for the response, Jeroen.

Aha, multiple loaders to the same target. In that case you indeed need to use the same application name. I’m using multiple enrichers for example and they share the same appName. They also subscribe to Kinesis so the process is probably the same.

I haven’t tried with multiple S3 loaders but I guess it should also work, same as for the enrichers.
Another thing that might block you from doing this is when you do not have enough shards. Each loader will claim a shard.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

I just found out another dev was using the same dynamodb table with another S3 loader, so that was my issue.

Hi all!

Just to add some clarity into how the Kinesis applications work on the Snowplow pipeline here. Each app (S3 Loader, ES Loaders, Stream Enrich) leverages the KCL (Kinesis Client Library) under the hood.